Skip to content
June 18, 2010 / Michelle Ferris

The Signature: Vietnamese Cuisine in Queen Anne

I had the luck of catching a deal on LivingSocial where you pay $10 and get a $22 coupon to The Signature. It’s about 15 minutes away from my work, and normally I don’t travel that far for lunch, but for a killer deal like that…

It was Friday “lunch rush” hour, but I was seated and served promptly, despite the large lunch get-together next to me (there was a table of about 10 – perhaps from a local business?). I was surprised to find the atmosphere of The Signature to be quite appealing (not your typical hole-in-the-wall Vietnamese restaurant).

The server was friendly, and helped me with suggestions. With the $22, I ordered Spring Rolls (Vietnamese fresh rolls – not fried), the (Green) Mango Salad with Grilled Shrimp, and a Small Beef Pho (Pho Tai). I had only gotten about a page and a half into my book when all three dishes came out. They were presented simply and looked delicious.

Pho, Spring Rolls, and Mango Salad at The Signature in Queen Anne of Seattle, Washington

Rare Beef Pho, Spring Rolls, and Mango Salad at The Signature in Queen Anne (Seattle, Washington)

I started in on the pho, which was more or less average. The broth was good with a nice depth to it, and served piping hot. I was disappointed that it appeared they had poured the broth over the beef, rather than laying the beef on top. The “rare beef” was now cooked. Quite so. For most this wouldn’t be a thing, but I prefer my beef still twitching. Sometimes even mooing. A nice touch was the thick, deep bowls, which ensured that it stayed hot until the last drop. I appreciated that.

I tried a few bites of the spring rolls. They were packed a little light for my preference, but the shrimp was very fresh and overall the spring rolls were good. The peanut sauce it was served with was excellent, and had a nice, light texture.

Mango Salad at The Signature in Queen Anne (Seattle, Washington)

Mango Salad at The Signature in Queen Anne (Seattle, Washington)

The mango salad looked gorgeous. And tasted just as good. It was served with a traditional Vietnamese light fish sauce dressing, and consisted of green mango, lightly pickled radish (daikon), carrot, fried shallot, cilantro, and grilled shrimp. Though I only tried a couple bites of this dish, I found it well balanced and delicious. The textures were spot on, and the fried shallots added a surprising sweetness and heartiness to a naturally light salad. I was thoroughly impressed.

.

Overall my experience here was great, and the food was perhaps better than average. I’m sure that if I am in the area, I will go back for seconds.

.

530 1st Ave N
(between Republican St & Mercer St)
Seattle, WA 98109
(206) 283-6614
The Signature, Seattle, WA
.
Hours:
Sun-Thu: 11 a.m. – 12 a.m.
Fri-Sat: 11 a.m. – 3:30 a.m.
Leave a Reply

