Skip to content
June 19, 2010 / Michelle Ferris

Djan’s Dining: Thai Restaurant in Wallingford (Seattle, WA)

I hadn’t been to Djan’s Thai Restaurant in over five years. I used to live across the street from it, and wasn’t terribly impressed with the food. However, they must have changed it up since I was there last. I left full, happy, and with my taste buds doing  a happy dance. Everything was delicious. Additionally, the service was fast and courteous, and the lemon in the water was well appreciated.

We started with two appetizers: Fresh Rolls and Beef salad.

The Fresh Rolls were served warm and were simple, with fried tofu and fresh cabbage in the middle and a lightly sweet teriyaki-type sauce drizzled over the top. They were good, but a little heavy for what I had expected.

Fresh RollsFresh Rolls

The Beef Salad was up next on the menu, and was quite perfectly spiced and cooked. The meat was cooked thoroughly, but was tender and light, and the fish sauce vinaigrette it was tossed in was very nice. It gave it a crisp citrus bite, with a little bit of kick. This dish was both refreshing and filling. If given the opportunity (luckily I wasn’t), I could have eaten several plates of this.

Beef SaladBeef Salad

For our main courses, we had brown rice (cooked better than any brown rice I have had previously), Scallops al Dente, and Panang Curry chicken.  Both dishes were fabulous, though the scallops, having a much more delicate flavor, really needed to be eaten first. If (as my sweetie did) you start right in on the curry, it makes it difficult to distinguish the flavors of the scallop dish.

Scallops al DenteScallops al Dente

The scallops were in a ginger-soy dressing, and had celery, green onion, peas, carrot, onion, slivers of ginger, and scallop. All were cooked to perfection – nothing in this dish was even a second overcooked or undercooked. I was very pleased to see that they didn’t skimp on the scallops, either. Too often, when ordering scallops, I find I have overpaid horribly for the amount of seafood that was actually plated. With Djan’s, I was terribly impressed. I imagined that the scallops I make at home for myself had just shaken their (metaphorical) fists at me. These were prepared better.

Panang Curry Chicken with Brown RicePanang Curry Chicken with Brown Rice

The Panang Curry was a great thickness, and consistently creamy. The flavors were all there, though I would have liked it a little bit spicier. Our “four star” request equated to about two stars on the palate. However, given that the flavors were so well put together, I am somewhat glad it wasn’t hotter. It really helped me to appreciate the flavors that were going on. The ingredients were all very fresh, and the chicken was nice and tender.

Everything was very well put together, flavor and texture-wise. The service was spot on, as was the atmosphere. The prices were average to a touch high for the specials, such as the scallops ($15.50), but well worth the price. I would go back here in a heartbeat, and highly suggest you try it as well.

264 NE 45th St
(between N Latona Ave & N Thackeray Pl)
Seattle, WA 98105
(206) 633-3526
www.djans.com
Hours:
Mon-Fri 11 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Mon-Thu, Sun 4:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.
Fri-Sat 4:30 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Sat-Sun 11:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Leave a Reply

