Skip to content
June 21, 2010 / Michelle Ferris

Sake Nomi – Sake Bar in Pioneer Square

I visited Sake Nomi after picking up some art at the First Thursday art walk in Pioneer Square. I had fully intended to put away my art and continue on to another gallery on my list, but instead put it away and saw the sign outside Sake Nomi. I went inside. They had a tasting of 5 different sakes for $5, so I sat and had some sips. I found a few that were delicious, and ended up having a glass of one with plum / pear hints.
.
The best sakes I tried were the Jokigen “Euphoria” (Junmai Ginjo), very soft on the tongue with hints of peach, lavender, strawberry, and sharply acidic notes; Toyo Bijin “Asian Beauty,” which had a mildly winelike soft dryness to it; and Dassai “Otter Festival” “50” (Junmai Daiginjo – Yamaguchi), which tasted of Jasmine, Muscat grape, and sea salt fragrances. It was soft and light, but a full mouthfeel.
.
The place was cozy and eclectic, and the bartender was kind and sociable. I have been looking for some good sources for sake for a long time, so I was excited to find this place. The sakes were delicious, and reasonably priced. It was a great experience, and I can’t wait to try the next selection of weekly sakes they have for tasting!
Sake Nomi
76 South Washington Street
Seattle, WA 98104-2568
(206) 467-7253
Leave a Reply

