Skip to content
July 7, 2010 / Michelle Ferris

Dreaming of Bones

Eyes open,
I wonder,
I fidget.
Thoughtless dreams evade me.
I watch ghosts spill stories on the walls.
Haunted by pain,
and charts,
and tests.
No wonder my feet are restless.
I lay here useless,
my answers just out of reach.
How can I not want to run,
grasp them,
strangle an answer out of them.
But it’s just grabbing at shadows.
Joints like old hinges,
sing me to sleep,
let me bend in the wind.
Let me dream of silence,
a body quiet.

© 2010 Michelle Ferris

Leave a Reply

