Skip to content
December 25, 2010 / Michelle Ferris

Smoked Mushroom Truffle Pasta Salad

I said to my brain, “well, what are we going to bring to Christmas dinner? There are a lot of people coming…”

To this, my brain replied with nothing but a quiet hum, which was not the most useful of responses, given the urgency of the situation. Christmas dinner was in a few hours.

“Truffles,” said my stomach, “and Parmesan.” I let the flavors roll over my thoughts, and as though a creature unto itself, it became.

Sun dried tomatoes… Basil… Farfalle pasta… with a smokiness that curls on your tongue, smooth like cream.

It was positively spectacular.

Serves 15

2 lb dry Farfalle pasta (bowtie) (use quinoa pasta for gluten-free option)

1/2 C rehydrated sun dried tomatoes, chopped (I used tomatoes jarred in oil)

8 small crimini mushrooms

8 shiitake mushrooms

1/2 lb oyster mushrooms

1/2 lb Chanterelle mushrooms

2 Tbsp white truffle oil

2 tsp liquid smoke

1 1/2 C half & half

1/4 lb Parmesan cheese, grated with a fine microplane

2 Tbsp butter

6 cloves garlic, finely minced

1 C fresh basil, chopped

4 Tbsp parsley leaves, chopped

Salt & Pepper to taste

3 oz smoked salmon (omit for vegetarian option)

  • Boil water in large pot, cook pasta, drain, and aside.
  • Slice crimini and shiitake mushrooms thinly.
  • Take oyster and Chanterelle mushrooms and rip them into strips by tearing from the cap toward the bottom of the stem.  They should be fairly thin segments.
  • Heat a large, nonstick pan on high and add butter.
  • When pan is hot, toss in sundried tomatoes, garlic and all mushrooms. Add about a half teaspoon of salt, and crack fresh pepper over the top. Cook through and remove from heat.
  • Add cream to small pot and heat gently. When warm, add Parmesan a little at a time, stirring to melt it in.
  • Add truffle oil to cream, mix, and remove from heat.
  • In a large bowl or pot, add drained pasta, mushroom mixture, cream sauce, bail, and parsley. Mix well.
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Sprinkle liquid smoke over the top and crumble smoked salmon over the top and fold both into the mix until well blended.
  • Serve hot or cold.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Candace R / Dec 29 2010 11:22 am

    This sounds yummy. I think I will make this for dinner tonight.

  2. Barry Gogol / Jan 5 2011 12:03 pm

    Great! Thanks for posting! I love anything with truffle oil!!!

  3. Michael Chavez / Jan 5 2011 11:29 pm

    I really have to taste this one for myself. It sounds really tasty. I like the smoked mushroom and truffle flavor with the smoked salmon. Very nice.

  4. Victoria Smith / Jan 6 2011 11:42 am

    Massive thumb up for this recipe! I’m always looking for new creative takes on old classics (like pasta salad). Giving it that nice smoked flavor and truffle flavor really spruced it up. Right on!

  5. Patty Rotega / Jan 9 2011 3:33 pm

    Complex flavors, simple dish. Nice. I tried it and my dinner guests were very happy with it. Thank you.

  6. Kim Ringers / Jan 11 2011 12:40 pm

    Nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom. Nuff said.

  7. Kimmy Possish / Jan 12 2011 12:44 am

    Spot on with this recipe. I’ll most likely make it again. Thanks!

  8. Trina Pearlman / Jan 12 2011 3:29 am

    Your truffle pasta is really tasty. I liked the smoked salmon. I added minced pepperocinis to mine, too, which was a nice touch.

  9. Colin Caperson / Jan 12 2011 6:07 am

    I like it. Made it tonight and it was super good. My wife thought it was the bees knees.

  10. kyani j. / Jan 12 2011 2:46 pm

    Everything should be made as simple as possible… but not simpler. 🙂

Leave a comment